Establishment Readers Restaurant
12 Church Street
Description: Reader’s also hosts specialty functions such as weddings, guest chefs, theme evenings, fancy dress parties and private soirees and small conferences and caters for functions held at other venues. Built in 1754, the oldest house in Tulbagh’s historic Church Street was revitalised in 1997 as this charming restaurant under Silwood-trained chef Carol Collins. Since then she has maintained her excellent reputation for ‘home-cooked meals with a difference’, from game steak served with gooseberry and Amarula sauce to homemade ice cream in unusual flavours. The menu changes daily depending on the availability of fresh produce. Built by the surgeon in 1754 - It was purchased by the Church on his death two years later, as a home for the Reader (sick comforter), who also ran the local school in larger front “stoepkamer” until he died in 1792. In 1780 the original stable was converted to a wine cellar, which was the first taphuis in the area. The main dining room of Readers Restaurant was therefore the first place of learning in Het land van Waveren, while the room behind, was the first school ever build in Waveren/Roodezand and remained a school until 1872, when the house was sold to the Theron Family. In June 1997 Reader’s opened its doors to the public for the first time. Offering simple yet outstanding cuisine, Reader’s has been able to maintain a standard of excellence that has created a notable reputation with both locals and tourists. The cuisine varies on a daily basis depending on the availability of fresh produce. This provides Carol Collins – Silwood trained Cordon Bleu Chef -a certain challenge in ensuring the creation of dishes using imagination, flair and superb presentation. Certain dishes have become trademarks at Reader’s but the focus on variety as well, as fusion of flavours and unusual combinations of ingredients will be maintained. The restaurant also serves as a gallery.